Allan Border Medal 2013 – Michael Clarke wins fourth medal


Allan Border Medal 2013 saw Michael Clarke bagging his fourth Allan Border medal as he was named Australia’s Test Player of the

Michael Clarke gets the fourth allan border medal
allan border medal

Year. The awards saw the best Aussie cricketers being awarded for their contributions throughout the year. We take a look at the Allan Border Medal 2103.

In other award categories, Clint McKay was named as Australia’s top ODI player at the Allan Border Medal 2013. Also, it was Shane Watson (thanks to his T20 World Cup performances) which got him the best T20 Player of the Year award at the Allan Border Medal 2013.

Clarke had a great year in Test cricket. He scored 1080 runs at an average of 77.14 during the voting period (which ran from February 25 last year to January 28 this year). He was at the peak of his form when he scored consecutive double-centuries against South Africa (259 not out at the Gabba followed by 230 in Adelaide). The third of his hundreds during the voting period was 106 against Sri Lanka during the Boxing Day Test. As full time captain Clarke average 72.48.

Jess Cameron - Allan Border Medal 2013
Jess Cameron – Allan Border Medal 2013

Also, Jessica Cameron won her first Belinda Clark Award as the top female cricketer. Phil Hughes received the domestic player of the year award. And Queensland’s Joe Burns won the Bradman young cricketer of the year award at the Allan Border Medal 2013.Bowling champions Glenn McGrath and Charlie Turner were elevated to the Cricket Australia Hall of Fame at the Allan Border Medal 2013.


Allan Border Medal 2013
Allan Border Medal 2013

Clint Mckay won the prestigious ODI Player of the Year award at the Allan Border Medal 2013. He ended the year taking 26 wickets at 25.8 in 18 matches. The Victorian paceman stunned everyone as he grabbed the award thanks to his consistency and hardwork.


Clarke said a lot of luck and hard work” had gone into the result, harking back to his axing from the national team in 2005 as the turning point.

“It was a tough time when I got dropped from the Test team, but I think that’s probably the time in my life when I realised I had to work a lot harder than I was to stay in the Australian team,” he said.

“I’m lost for words, it’s not something I expected at all,” McKay said.

“To win an award that’s voted by your peers, it’ something you treasure dearly.

“It’s been a long ride, a long process over 7-8 years … but going through the ranks, it’s been fantastic.”

The Allan Border Medal 2013 saw the best of Australian cricketers being awarded for their outstanding performances. An affair of glitter and glamour, the awards celebrated cricket in Australia by honoring those who have made it big for their nation. That’s it from the Allan Border Medal 2013.

Previous articleIPL Auctions 2013 – Full Details
Next articleTop 10 Greatest Batsman of All Time
A student of political science, journalism and mass communication, Rohit Joshi has been writing for four years now. A blogger, a photographer, an emcee/rapper, graphics designer and a public speaker, Joshi taps a number of subjects in his content and dazzles the readers by engaging them in his words which he feels are his weapons. His passion for cricket and his love for the game can be felt in his write-ups.A number of tabs on him, Joshi is above all a dreamer who feels that someday he'll find his ground.Visit his blogs: